Qasar salat(govt. duty for 13 days)

Question:

I am on government duty at a district of about 220 kms from my home. I usually go on duty for 13 days than come home. The government has not provided me a house, nor I have rented. As per my home’s neighboring masjid’s imam’s order, I have to offer kasar salat for zohar, asar & isha. Now the imam of the local masjid at the place of my duty has ordered this practice invalid. What should I do in this matter? Please give me guidance.

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

 

Al-Salam `alaykum

Respected brother

You will have to offer Qasr Salah (i.e. 2 rak`ahs for Zuhr, `Asr and `Isha) at your place of duty. This is because it is more than 77km from your hometown and you do not intend to stay there for 15 days or more. Thus you remain a musafir. (Shar`i traveller)

If at any time you do intend to stay there for 15 days or more then you will NOT offer Qasr Salah.

Please refer to the full details of this on the Sunni Path website.

Below you will find some more information on this from the book Anis al-Musafir.

Abu Usamah

continue to read:http://spa.qibla.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=3079&CATE=165

and:http://www.123muslim.com/islamic-articles/9668-namaz-traveller.html

Leave a Reply

